RSS

52 ancestors – John Podmore of Coten End

30 Jun

John Podmore of Coten End was born in 1665 he was my 6 and 7 x Great Grandfather, son of Humphry Podmore.

It seems from his will that he was a farmer and that he had acquired a little gold and silver, plus goods and animals, a step up from his father Humphry.

Transcribed as best I can, this is the most informative section of his will.

And as for my Estate I doe ordere give and bequeath and dispose The same in mannor and forme following First I give and Bequeath to my son John Podmore my best sute of Close Item I give and bequeath to my Daughter Mary Podmore The Sum of twenty pounds and my Gold Ring Item I give to my Daughter Elizabeth Podmore The Sum of twenty Pounds and some Old Silver That I have by me Item I give and bequeath To my Son Joseph Podmore my Lands goods cattles and Chattells ????????moveable quick and Dead.

John Podmore marred a Mary Collier at Gnossall in 1691, it would have been at St Lawrence Church, she may be sister to the William Collier who witnessed Humphry Podmore’s will (she has a brother named William but her father is John). The Colliers and the Podmores seem to have been fairly prominent in the area at the time.

John and Mary had four children John, Elizabeth, Mary and Joseph, Joseph is my direct ancestor.

St Lawrence Church, Gnossall

St Lawrence Church, Gnossall, Staffs, many of the Podmore family buried here.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 30, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “52 ancestors – John Podmore of Coten End

Leave a Reply

 
